Donaghey captures title

David Donaghey, winner of the Tyrone Road Race Championships B event

Kieran McKenna (East Antrim CC) and David Donaghey (Strabane-Lifford CC) became ‘Tyrone Road Race Champions’ at Carrickmore last weekend in the A and B race respectively.

There was a good spread of clubs represented in the inaugural Tyrone Road Race Championships hosted by Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club, and the race enjoyed dry and sunny conditions.


McKenna, who originally comes from Omagh, competed in the A race for A1/2/3 riders which covered 3 laps of an undulating 58 mile circuit. Despite being out-numbered by some of the better represented clubs, McKenna played it cool during what was a very tactical game of cat and mouse with the stronger riders marking each other closely.

Early in the first lap, Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers) and Alan McKeown (Island Wheelers) attacked and took advantage of the negative riding behind. The duo worked well together, and despite the windy conditions, built up a maximum lead of 4 minutes at one point.

However, the rolling roads and tough wind took their toll and on the 2nd lap the gap started to decline. Behind, John McGlaughlin (East Tyrone CC) made a good effort to get across to the leading duo and was shortly joined by Paul Coyle (Strabane-Lifford CC).


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 15 Main Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AS