Tyrone hang on to defeat Derry

Ulster Minor League winners Tyrone

Ulster Minor League winners Tyrone

Tyrone …1-9

THERE was an element of a sparring match in Saturday’s Ulster Minor League Final.

Both teams knew that they will have to meet again in a month’s time in the Ulster Championship so they didn’t want to give much away.
What Tyrone revealed was that they were keen to play a defensive game, particularly in the first half when they absorbed a lot of Derry attacks.
It was only in the second half, when Tyrone became more direct that they took control of the game, though it has to be said that some of their shooting was dubious. They kicked eight wides and a handful of efforts dropped short.
In the end though it was a first half goal by Tyrone skipper Peter Og McCartan that ultimately proved the difference.
Richie Mullan and Mark McGrogan top scored for Derry with 0-2 apiece while PT Cunningham, James Morgan, Mattie McGuigan, Oran Mallon, Darragh Canavan and Cahir Goodwin were on target with points for Tyrone.


No North Tyrone teams will feature in his year's Tyrone club championship finals after Clann Na nGael and Owen...

JUSTIN McMahon has called time on a glittering career with Tyrone crowned by an All-Ireland senior triumph in 2008.

Ex-Tyrone stars say lessons need to be learned from Sunday's bruising defeat to Dublin.


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 15 Main Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AS