Tyrone U17s see off Meath in All-Ireland Semi-Final

Tyrone 1-14   Meath 0-10

TYRONE are through to the inaugural All Ireland U17 football final after they produced an impressive display to beat Meath at Kingspan Breffni Park on Wednesday night.

Tyrone led 1-6 to 0-5 at the break but that advantage was scant reward for the possession that they had enjoyed. Darragh Canavan opened the scoring with a fine effort from the right wing before Cormac Donaghy doubled their advantage from a free.


In the 11th minute Tyrone struck for a well worked goal when Joe Oguz and Cormac Donnelly combined for Ethan Jordan to palm the ball to the net from close range. Moments later they almost had a second goal but Meath keeper Lee Browne turned Donnelly’s shot onto the post.

It took Meath sixteen minutes to open their account through full forward Jordan Morris but Tyrone came straight down the field for Oguz to point. Jordan and Thomas Hoy added to Tyrone’s advantage but Meath finished the half strongly with efforts from Patrick Matthews, Morris and Aaron Lynch.

Morris and Canavan exchanged points on the restart before efforts from Shane Walsh and Liam Byrne saw the gap cut to two. Tyrone didn’t panic though with Jordan knocking over a free and midfielders Matthew Murnaghan and Oguz on target from play.

Meath needed a goal but it never looked like coming and instead it was Tyrone who closed out the game with points from Canavan, Cormac Donnelly and a brace from substitute Ryan McCabe.
Tyrone: L Quinn, A Fox, M McCusker, C Ward, T Quinn, C Monroe, R Slane, M Murnaghan (0-1), J Oguz (0-2), C Donaghy (0-1), D Canavan (0-3), D Miller, E Jordan (1-2), C Donnelly (0-1), T Hoy (0-2). Subs: C Quinn for Ward, M Hayes for Donaghy, R McCabe (0-2) for Hoy, R Hollywood for Slane, L Gray for Jordan, K Barker for McCusker
Meath: L Browne, S Bannon, S Ryan (0-1), M Gavin, O Smullan, L Byrne (0-1), C Courtney, C Doherty, F Waters, C McBride, S Walsh (0-3), P Matthews (0-1), A Lynch (0-1), J Morris (0-3), M Costello. Subs: B O’Connell for McBride (black card), D Keating for Waters, M Murphy for Bannon, E Martin for Costello, J O’Connor for Gavin, A Ryan for Courtney
Referee: B Tiernan, Dublin


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 15 Main Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AS