Stephanie crowned Golfer of the Year

Stephanie Rennie receives the Newtownstewart Golfer of the Year Cup from lady captain, Caroline Ballantine.

THE Ladies Silver Dinner was held on Thursday night last and Stephanie Rennie was crowned Newtownstewart Lady Golfer of the Year for 2017. Stephanie is relatively new to the game having started two years ago but her determination to improve has certainly paid off.

Silver prizes from throughout the year were presented along with the Winter League prizes which was won this year by Marie McSorley’s team from Teresa Mullan’s team in second place. The evening progressed with a new rendition of Sweet Caroline sung by the committee to honour Lady Captain Caroline as her year draws to a close. Incoming Captain Karen Ballentine then announced that Dr Anne Louise Hicks will be the incoming Lady Vice Captain which was a very popular choice with all the ladies.


In the men’s Strathroy Dairies sponsored Winter League Team A held on to their lead to win with Team H making a late run to grab second place. The overall individual winner was Dermot McNamee and he was captain of Team A as well so a very successful evening for Dermot. All the matchplay cups were also presented and the winning Lawson Cup team were also officially presented with the cup by Damien Montague.

Winter League
Overall Winner: Dermot McNamee
Winning Team: ‘A’
Dermot McNamee, Roy Murray, Norman Hall, Vincent McCrory, Sean Hurd, Adrian Hamilton
Runners-up: Team H
Don O’Kane, Chris O’Kane, Kevin Sweeney, Peter Thompson, John Armstrong, Paul McLaughlinIndividual Team Winners:
A: Roy Murray, B: Kenny Stewart, C: Alan McFarland, D: David Allen, E: Alan Blair, F: Steven Galbraith, G: Andy Irwin, H: Kevin Sweeney, I: Vinny Colgan, J: Jack Allen, K: Jim Loughran, L: Albert Ballantine
Club Knock-Out Cups

Marshal Cup
Winner: Andy McCain, runner-up Sean Hurd

Newtownstewart Cup
Winner: Eamon Dunphy
Runner-up: Scott Ballantine

Maturin Baird Cup
Winner: Sean McGuigan, runner-up Bob Hayes

Devine Cup
Winner: Sean McGuigan /Alan Roxborough, runner-up Danny Ball /Sam Robinson

DA Golf Monthly Medal Play Off
Winner: Stephen Beattie
Runner-up: Greg Beckett


Strabane Sigersons under 10 boys wrapped up their season on Saturday past when they hosted their annual memorial tournament...

OWEN Roes clinched the Division Three title with an emphatic victory over second-placed Newtownstewart last night.

The 2 Castles Club, Newtownstewart have two boxers competing at the Irish Championships at the National Stadium in Dublin...


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 15 Main Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AS