Watson pips Ward with sprint finish

POWERHOUSE Sport’s Lindsay Watson pipped local racer, Adam Ward to victory in Strabane Lifford Cycling’ Club’s annual Canal Criterium town centre race.

In the first part of the day’s action, over fifty boys and girls took part in the early racing as the club hosted a full programme of youth racing from U8 to U16 level as part of the Cycling Ulster Youth Criterium series and the North West Youth League.

The crowds who gathered to watch were treated to some brilliant bike racing as the boys and girls gave a great account of themselves.


Meanwhile, the dried out roads led to some fast and furious action during the A4 race. This fast pace led to two riders breaking away from the bunch and it was Davoren Fallon, from DCU CC, who took the honours by out-sprinting local favourite Stephen McCay, from the host club, in a close fought finish.

Next up was the A1/2/3/Junior race that attracted a quality top field of riders, who put on a great show around the streets of Strabane.

A group of four came to the finish to contest the top placings on the day, with Watson producing a fabulous sprint finish to take victory from Donemana’s Ward (Bio Racer DHL FR), with Donegal Bay’s Darragh McCarter coming third with fellow Donegal man Mitchell McLaughlin fourth.

The club would like to thank race coordinator Sharon Moore and her army of helpers for making it a great day. Thanks to Dany Blondeel from the Belgian Project, who did a great job compering the event.

The club would also like to thank Derry City and Strabane District Council, Strabane PSNI, the Alley Theatre, John Tracey from Modern Tyre Service, SAFE community rescue group and everyone else who made it a great day.


A4 Race
1, Davoren Fallon, DCU CC
2, Stephen McCay, Strabane Lifford CC
3, Darren Sheridan, Four Masters CC
1st Lady, Ellie Kelso, TC Racing
1st unplaced SLCC rider, Shane Kelly

A1/2/3/junior Race
1, Lynsey Watson, Powerhouse Sport
2, Adam Ward, Bio Racer-DHL-FR
3, Darragh McCarter, Donegal Bay CC
1st unplaced Junior, Donal Walsh, Four Masters
1st unplaced SLCC rider, JP Connolly

Youth results

U8 Girls
1, Aoife Campbell, Square Wheels CC
2, Sarah Craig, SLCC
3, Emma Craig, SLCC

U8 Boys
1, Darragh Young, Apollo
2, Rory McCool, Square Wheels CC
3, Jake Rockett, Ards CC
3, Jack Hanthorn, Orchard CC

U10 Girls
1, Brenna Elliott, Dunloy CC
2, Poppy Hamilton, Shimna CC
3, Maeve McCool, Square Wheels CC

U10 Boys
1, Jamie Rockett, Ards CC
2, Josh McClane, Madigan CC
3, Eoghan McHugh, Four Masters

U12 Girls
1, Ava McCrea, SLCC

U12 Boys
1, Karl Rockett, Ards CC
2, Thomas McAlinden, Apollo CC
3, Ashton Moore, SLCC

U14 Girls
1, Lucy Brown, Phoenix CC
2, Zoe Lindsay, Dromore CC
3, Amy Lundy, Foyle CC

U14 Boys
1, Curtis Neill, Carn Wheelers
2, Travis Harkness, Carn Wheelers
3, Elisah McGinley, Errigal CC

U16 Girls
1, Maria McAllister, Island Wheelers

U16 Boys
1, Odhran Doogan, Powerhouse Sport
2, Neil Kerso, East Tyrone CC
3, Ciaran McGettigan, Errigal CC

Final NW Youth League standings

U8 Girls
1, Sarah Craig, SLCC
2, Emma Craig, SLCC

U10 Boys
1, Ciaran McCay, SLCC
2, Daniel Craig, SLCC

U10 Girls
1, Clodagh Quigley, Foyle CC

U12 Boys
1, Ashton Moore, SLCC
2, Kyle Stevenson, SLCC
3, Connor Kelly, SLCC

U12 Girls
1, Ava McCrea, SLCC

U14 Boys
1, Rhys Stevenson, SLCC
2, Elijah McGinley Errigal, CC
3, Darragh O’Donnell, Foyle CC

U14 Girls
1, Amy Lundy, Foyle CC
2, Tatiana Dillon, SLCC

U16 Boys
1, Ciaran McGettigan, Errigal CC
2, Conor Gallagher, Errigal CC
3, Somhairle Owens Fisher, Omagh Wrs


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 4 Castle Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AB