Clubs vote in favour of domestic restructute

THE North West Cricket Union’s clubs have voted comprehensively in favour of a new domestic structure ahead of the 2021 season.
Last week the clubs voted in favour of some fairly radical changes after engaging in a consultation process with the Union’s Board of Control. 
There was overall support of around 95% for the new structures which will come into effect domestically from the start of the 2021 campaign.
It will see a three-tier set-up for the senior adult teams for an initial three year period, but up for debate after two.
Basically, all 15 senior clubs would enter a ‘Pro 40’ competition of two groups from the start of the season. The groups will be evenly split based on accumulated league points over the last couple of seasons.
Group A will include Brigade, Bready, Glendermott, Strabane, Ardmore, Fox Lodge, St Johnston and Bonds Glen.
Eglinton, Donemana, Coleraine, Ballyspallen, Burndennett, Killyclooney and Newbuildings will make up group B.
Teams will play each other once with the top four in each group then going through to play for the Premiership trophy. The remainder of the sides will play for the Championship title and there would be no promotion/relegation system in play.
40-over matches would start at 12 noon and at the behest of the clubs themselves there will be one replay date available. 
The second phase of the season is the senior cup in its regular format- straight knockout 50 over competition with one replay date available for all ties. All 50 over matches now start at 11am as passed at the AGM in 2019.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 4 Castle Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AB